WAIMH offers five important awards. The following award nominations are in conjunction with our biennial congresses call for proposals. WAIMH recognizes members from across the world who have made very important contributions to the infant mental health community. The WAIMH Awards Committee encourages nominations from a variety of disciplines and settings around the world, e.g. health, mental health, early care and education, early intervention, hospitals, colleges and universities, legislatures, to name just a few.

Nominations are invited for each of the following award categories: WAIMH Award, Sonya Bemporad Award, Serge Lebovici Award, Rene Spitz Award, and the New Investigator Award.

The deadline for nominations is prior to 2018 World Congress in Rome.   




Given in recognition of significant contributions to the World Association for Infant Mental Health, either directly or through one of the WAIMH Affiliate Associations.

2016 Recipient

Pia Risholm-Mothander

Past Recipients

Hisako Watanabe and Beulah Warren (2014)

Catherine Maguire and Rochelle Matacz (2012)

Astrid Berg (2010)

Campbell Paul and Brigid Jordan (2008)

Sam Tyano (2006)

Dilys Daws (2002)

Joy Osofsky (2000)

Sonya Bemporad (1996)

Justin Call (1996)

Robert Emde (1996)

Hiram Fitzgerald (1996)

Eleanor Galenson (1996)

Serge Lebovici (1996)

Sonya Bemporad Award

Given in recognition of significant contributions to the advancement of social and public policies that contribute to the mental health and overall benefit of infants, toddlers, and their families. Nominees typically are not involved in service delivery or scientific or clinical studies of infants. Legislators, officials, advocates, media representatives, foundation directors, and concerned citizens may qualify for the award.

2016 Recipient

Geoffrey Nagle

Past Recipients

Natalia Trenchi and Miguel Cherro-Aguerro (2014)

Deborah Weatherston (2012)

Tuula Tamminen (2010)

Matthew Melmed (2008)

Pam Linke (2006)

Salvador Celia (2002)

Betty Tableman (2002)

Paul Steinhauer (2000)

Serge Lebovici Award

Given in recognition of significant contributions to the international development of infant mental health. Nominees typically are individuals who have been actively involved in collaborative efforts that have cross-national implications for infant mental health.

2016 Recipient

Bernard Golse

Past Recipients

Heidelise Als (2014)

Elisabeth Fivaz-Depeursinge (2012)

Charles H. Zeanah, Jr. (2010)

Daniel Stern (2008)

Michel Soule (2006)

Myriam David (2002)

René Spitz Award

Given in recognition of significant lifetime contributions to clinical and/or experimental research on topics related to infant mental health. Nominees typically are individuals who have made substantive scientific contributions to the interdisciplinary field of infant mental health.

2016 Recipient

Alicia Lieberman

Past Recipients

Colwyn Trevarthen (2014)

Peter Fonagy (2012)

Mechtild Papousek (2010)

Takeo Doi (2008)

Robert Emde (2006)

T. Berry Brazelton (2002)

New Investigator Award

The purpose of the WAIMH New Investigator Award is to recognize and encourage promising new investigators in infant mental health. The applicant must be a member of WAIMH or must be sponsored by a member of WAIMH. The applicant must have earned a university degree no more than eight years prior to the application deadline. The individual selected as new investigator receives a cash award, a plaque, and acceptance of his/her paper for publication in the Infant Mental Health Journal (this involves exposure to the peer review process as a way of assisting the investigator’s professional development). In addition, the new investigator must be prepared to present his or her work at the following world congress.


Past Recipients

Sarah Bergmann (2016)

Sheri Madigan (2014)

Elita Amini Virmani (2010)

Wakako Sanefuji (2008)

Claire Vollotton (2006)

Kaija Puura (2002)

Laurie A. Van Egeren (2000)

Anne McDonald Culp (1996)


World Association for Infant Mental Health
University of Tampere
Medical School, Laakarinkatu 1
33014 University of Tampere
Phone: +358 50 4627379 · E-mail:
© 2017 World Association for Infant Mental Health. All rights reserved.